Floria 2016: Sight and Scenes

Floria Putrajaya. An honestly great place to just relax and unwind, save for the rain, the crowd, the puddles and did I mention; the rain?

The interior of a nearby mosque. It's such a stunning design, bar for the heinously placed donation box.
The interior of a nearby mosque. It’s such a stunning design, bar for the heinously placed donation box.

I began my hour long journey to Putrajaya with my now trusty X-Pro 1 paired with the XF 35/2 in hopes for a pre-sunset view of the whole event, getting just enough drama outta the dull skies of Malaysia to serve as a good backdrop for my shots. As I drove on, the sky just kept getting darker, and greyer. As the miles crept on, so was the sinking feeling deep within my heart. It poured not long after I arrived to the Putrajaya state border. Wonderful!

Symmetry at long last
Symmetry, at long last.

If the rain wasn’t a great enough hindrance, as I arrived, the parking area was completely and utterly crowded with double parked cars. It was at that point I decided to give up, temporarily, and retreated to a nearby mosque, which also happens to be an architectural marvel. Talk about your silver linings, huh.

DSCF3664
I just love walking around this mosque, simply beautiful

Once the weather decided to be less of a b***h, I finally waddled on over to the event, and while it was crowded and dark for street photography, it was very pretty. The plethora of well lit and decorated mini-gardens do liven up the venue quite significantly.

XPro-1 and it's magnificent tones.
XPro-1 and it’s magnificent tones.

So there I was, roaming the place, looking like an absolute twat lugging my tripod and camera around. Thank god I didn’t decide to bring the Mamiya RB-67 on this shoot. The glares I got from lugging that camera around *shudders*.

 

My definite favourite from this trip
My definite favourite from this trip – Frozen in Time

Most if not all shots from this trip was taken at ISO 200 and at f/8. Just to get them clean and sharp files from the X-Pro 1, and you know what, they really do not disappoint. The XF 35/2 is especially great. Amazing performance from corner-to-corner, not a hint of chromatic aberrations, flares, glares or halos, even when pointed directly to a strong light source.

Fading Away
Fading Away – lovely tone. The lack of contrast makes it almost dreamier to me

While this little outing of mine magnificently strayed away from the initial concept I had in mind, nonetheless, I had a blast capturing the fun or even quirky sight and scenes of Floria 2016. I would very well attend again next year, but I damn well hope the weather would just sort it’s s**t out first! Such bleak skies! Thanks for indulging my rant, until next time.

The mosque I went to while waiting for the rain to subside as viewed from Floria. Would've looked better during sunset
The mosque I went to while waiting for the rain to subside as viewed from Floria. Would’ve looked better during sunset
Leave a Reply

