XPro-1: Through Its Paces

Yes, another XPro-1 related post. Sorry, not sorry

Still getting acquainted with the quirks of the XPro-1. So far, I still do love the big and bright OVF more. The EVF is good, but I’d only use it when acquiring focus is critical. Even tried shooting with the display on the back, it’s amazing, way better than the display on my D7000. It almost looks like a touchscreen, good colours, UI and clarity, no complaints here.

As soon as I took this shot, I knew I had to do it in B&W. There's an air of solemnity and calmness in here
As soon as I took this shot, I knew I had to do it in B&W. There’s an air of solemnity and calmness here

The Fujifilm XF 35/2. I never really talked about this lens much in the last post, and there’s really not much to be said, honestly. Great sharpness, bokeh and field of view. Simply a vast improvement from my old Nikon 50/1.8D. Focus is superbly silent, and reasonably quick, only limited by the focusing performance of the XPro-1. This lens would perform much better on the XT-1 and XPro-2.

A minimalistic shot of kids playing in an ocean - it was reasonably deep too
A minimalistic shot of kids playing in the ocean – it was reasonably deep too

The wider field of view of the 35 vs 50 (50 vs 80 equiv.) does actually help me to experiment more with my shots. I could now pull off more minimalistic shots like the one shown above, as there’s simply more items included in the shots. I am still getting used to this new framing ideology, but I’m getting there – and loving it.

The XPro-1 is sized reasonably enough (and stylish enough) to bring in a cafe without making myself look like a complete idiot while taking food shots
The XPro-1 is sized reasonably enough (and stylish enough) to bring in a cafe without making myself look like a complete idiot while taking food shots

The shots above and below this point illustrates 3 major perks for this combo; i) Great bokeh from the 35/2, ii) Noise performance at ISO2500 – good enough for me (dim café lighthing), and iii) Lack of any chromatic aberration or colour fringing from the lens.

Also, on the topic of noise, I do love the way the X-Trans sensor renders noise – it almost look like film grain. It’s not at all undesirable such as from the sensor in the D7000. Maybe that would happen at even higher ISOs. I’d try it out later.

DSCF3557
Another food shot, again at ISO2500. Not bad for my first food photography attempt. The wider FOV does help me attempt more shots that I wouldn’t have tried with my older 50/1.8D

Essentially, as I’m taking more and more shots from the XPro-1, I’m just appreciating this beauty even more compared to the D7000. A worthy purchase indeed. Thanks for tuning in!

Another attempt at a more minimalistic shot, still like the first one better. Should've brought a tripod along for a long exposure shot.
Another attempt at a more minimalistic shot, still like the first one better. Should’ve brought a tripod along for a long exposure shot.
Leave a Reply

